Skip to main content

Open House coming up (2021-04-11)

 


Last year I held a couple of 3 a.m. Korea time Zoom calls. I promised myself that I would never do it again. And so far I haven't.

Instead, I did something even worse.

An all-nighter.

The conference started yesterday from 11 pm, we finished at 4:55 a.m. this morning.

Should I bother saying I will never do that again?

I need to have a normal life. I had planned to take the day off to get my time clock ready for what was coming, but I was receiving so many questions from people that I barely slept the day before and day of the conference.

* * *

There are three kinds of people in the world: Those who make things happen, those who watch things happen, and those people (like the ones who showed up today) asking: What happened?

Some people ignored the previous emails and messages and thought the conference was either today, or starting at 11 am, not 11 pm Korea time.

I can't blame them. It makes perfect sense that someone in Seoul would schedule a meeting to start at 11 am Korea time.

Who in the world starts a conference in his own time zone to start from 11 pm, and plans to go on until the crack of dawn?

* * *

So why have I scheduled a virtual Open House at 9 a.m. Seoul time on April 11th? It isn't because I don't have anyone performing an intervention to stop me. My co-founder is Eunkoo Lee. Expecting her to stop me from setting up meetings is like expecting a fellow alcoholic to stop you from drinking. 

She isn't just an enabler. When I show up to the office, I learn that we have many meetings scheduled. I will give her credit, she is fantastic at avoiding double-booking sessions. Instead, she will book them one after another without ever making a mistake.

If I say I need a break, she will agree, then recommend that I take a 15 minute break between meetings or show up to a meeting a few minutes late.

I couldn't even take today off after wrapping up the session at 5 am and finally kind of sleeping from about 7 a.m. Surprise, surprise, we had a 1 pm zoom meeting, then a 3 pm zoom meeting right after that.

Thanks Eunkoo!!!

* * *

So here we are again, but I can only blame myself. Swept away in the enthusiasm of holding a conference, I thought we should have some type of a follow-up session. This week will be busy (surprise!) so Sunday morning seemed to be the one time we could have the Open House.

A 9 a.m. Open House scheduled for April 11th Korea time. We will hold it to one hour because, yes, Eunkoo will have another meeting! It will be her online church service. 

I am sure I will hang around if people want to talk more, but the meeting will probably end at 10 am sharp if people show up telling me how we should run FSI or fit our programming around their lives, schedules and dreams.

Please register so we can have an idea of how many people may be joining. https://www.eventbrite.com/e/open-house-with-fsi-co-founders-tickets-149452633851

24 hours prior to the Open House we will send out the link for the session. If you sign up at Eventbrite, you will also receive a message with the link information.

www.lovetnkr.org/donate

Popular posts from this blog

Manufactured cases

My former Cato Institute colleague Bob Levy is profiled by the Associated Press for his role in the challenge to the DC gun ban. One great thing about Levy is that he tells it like it is. As the article quotes: And Levy freely admits the case is manufactured, not one that bubbled up by chance from the district's steady flow of criminal cases involving guns. He wanted presentable plaintiffs to make a case for gun rights, not criminals. "We didn't want crack heads and bank robbers to be poster boys for the Second Amendment," he said. Is there a problem with this case being manufactured? I heard a talking head on the radio complaining a while ago that this case wasn't from real DC residents, that it was from outsiders. What's wrong with that? There may be some times that it takes an outsider to challenge an injustice or bad law. Did DC residents claim that Martin Luther King Jr. was an outsider who should have minded his own business? And about the case being ...

2020-11-26 My basketball story

This photo was uploaded today by my aunt Annette. This was back in the day, when 1) I had a head full of hair and 2) played basketball a lot. That first year of playing organized basketball, I focused on playing defense. It seemed that everyone wanted to shoot the ball, so I passed the ball and played defense. I probably led the league in steals, rebounds and blocked shots. I enjoyed taking on the best player from the other team, I felt like I would get better, quickly. The second year, I was a different player. I will never forget the first game that second year--we lost 29 to 26, I scored 18 points. I probably led the universe in scoring that second year, although we didn't win much. One thing I learned from that experience is that one great player 9 (at least in his own mind) can't beat a team. An eye injury ended my pro career before it began, to this day I still have floaters in my eyes because of the injury. I started wearing glasses, but the problem never went away. On t...

KC=GQ

I am featured in the April 2013 issue of 2032 Magazine.

"Yoegi Anjuseyo!"

* I have a short reflection in today's Korea Times about an encounter with an unfriendly looking Korean man on the subway. It was a reminder not to be too quick in judging people in Korea. 09-13-2011 16:47 'Yeogi Anjeuseyo!' By Casey Lartigue Jr. The recent incident in which an American English teacher bullied an elderly Korean man and other passengers on the bus reminded me of a more pleasing incident from years ago. I was on the subway, taking the train outside of Seoul for a work assignment. I have the habit of standing on the subway to strategically position myself near the doors in case my stop magically appears. On that particular day, there was a Korean man STARING at me. Not just looking at me, but intensely staring at me. He had an incredible frown on his face. Not just for one stop, but for several stops the guy just kept staring at me. If I had known more Korean then I would have been able to curse him ...

Rich talking back

The rich are talked about very often in negative terms, but how often do the rich respond in kind? Australian billionaire Gina Rinehart, who inherited most of her money but apparently has also done very well with it, recently railed against class warfare and had some advice for the non-rich : "There is no monopoly on becoming a millionaire," she writes. "If you're jealous of those with more money, don't just sit there and complain. Do something to make more money yourself - spend less time drinking, or smoking and socializing and more time working."   She complained about politicians raising taxes, regulations that slow investment, and other anti-business policies that harm the poor. "If you want to help the poor and our next generation, make investment, reinvenstment and businesses welcome."